SIAM AG on Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions


Extract from OP-SF NET

Topic #7  --------------   OP-SF NET 8.4  ----------------  July 15, 2001
From: Allison Bogardo (
Subject: Eduardo Sontag Wins Reid Prize

     SIAM has announced that its 2001 W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize in
     Mathematics will be awarded to Professor Eduardo Sontag of Rutgers
     University.  The prize is awarded for research in, or other
     contributions to, the broadly defined areas of differential equations
     and control theory.  The selection committee (comprised of John A.
     Burns as chair, Ruth F. Curtain, James G. Glimm, and John
     Guckenheimer) cited Sontag's many contributions to nonlinear control

     Professor Sontag will receive the Reid Medal and a $10,000 cash award
     at the SIAM Annual Meeting in San Diego in July.  Sontag will deliver
     the Reid lecture on Wednesday, July 11, at 5:20 p.m. in the Town and
     Country Room of the Town and Country Resort Hotel.  The title of his
     talk will be "The central themes of systems and control theory, and
     their role in postgenomic molecular biology."

     The prize is named for William T. and Idalia Reid, William T. having
     been a renowned mathematics professor at the University of Chicago,
     Northwestern University, University of Iowa, and University of
     Oklahoma. Previous Reid Prize recipients are Wendell H. Fleming, Roger
     W. Brockett, Constantine M. Dafermos, and the late Jacques-Louis

Back to Home Page of
SIAM AG on Orthogonal Polynomials and Special Functions
Page maintained by Bonita Saunders