ITLApplied  Computational Mathematics Division
MCSD Highlights
Attractive Image NIST

Kearsley Receives 2001 Flemming Award

May 2001

Anthony Kearsley

Anthony Kearsley, a mathematician in the NIST/ITL Mathematical and Computational Sciences Division has been named a recipient of the prestigious Arthur S. Flemming Award for 2001. The Flemming Award is given each year to outstanding Federal employees with less than 15 years of Federal service.

Kearsley was cited for a sustained record of contributions to the development and use of large-scale optimization techniques for the solution of partial differential equations arising in science and engineering. Noted were his contributions to the solution of problems in such diverse areas as oil recovery, antenna design, wireless communications, climate modeling, optimal shape design, and high-temperature superconductors. His tireless work as a mentor and leading proponent of careers in mathematics for students at the high school, undergraduate, and graduate levels was also cited.

Kearsley is the third MCSD staff member to receive the Flemming Award. Fern Hunt was a recipient last year, and Geoffrey McFadden received the award in 1989. Past winners of the award include such luminaries as Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Lewis Branscomb, Neil Armstrong, Elizabeth Dole, and Francis Collins.

This is the 52nd year in which the award has been given. Twelve separate awards are given each year in three categories - scientific, applied science, and administrative. Kearsley, whose award is in the scientific category, joins other winners from the FBI, FAA, USAF, Library of Congress, NASA, FHA, FDA, and the NIH. The award will be presented at George Washington University on June 5, 2001.

(bullet) Anthony J. Kearsley (NIST/MCSD/MMG)
See also:
(bullet) GWU press release
(bullet) Flemming Web site

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | FOIA
NIST is an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department.
Last updated: 2011-01-12.