ITLApplied  Computational Mathematics Division
MCSD Highlights
Attractive Image NIST

Alpert Receives 2006 Flemming Award

June 2006

Bradley Alpert

Bradley Alpert of the NIST Mathematical and Computational Sciences Division has been named a winner of the 2005 Arthur Flemming Award. Established by the Downtown Jaycees in 1948, the Flemming Awards honor outstanding federal employees with at most 15 years of service. The program is administered by the George Washington University in conjunction with the Flemming Award Commission. Twelve separate awards are made each year in three categories: administration, science, and applied science and mathematics. Alpert was recognized in the latter category for a sustained record of fundamental contributions to scientific computing, including the development of fast algorithms enabling the solution to heretofore intractable problems of computational physics. He is also cited for his extensive collaborations with scientists and engineers to apply innovative techniques to the solution of diverse problems of scientific and technological interest. Finally, the award recognizes Alpert's work as a mentor and leading proponent of careers in mathematics for students at the high school, undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate levels. The award was conferred in ceremonies in Washington, DC on June 13, 2006.

Alpert is the fourth MCSD staff member to receive the Flemming Award. Previous MCSD awardees were Anthony Kearsley (2001), Fern Hunt (2000), and Geoffrey McFadden (1989). Past winners of the award include such luminaries as Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Lewis Branscomb, Neil Armstrong, Elizabeth Dole, and Francis Collins.

(bullet) Bradley K. Alpert (NIST/MCSD/MMG)
See also:
(bullet) Flemming Web site

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | FOIA
NIST is an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department.
Last updated: 2011-01-12.